Partners

Member

onalogo.png
Minnesota teen drivers now required to spend more time practicing

Minnesota teen drivers now required to spend more time practicing

(THE MED CITY BEAT) - Minnesota teens are now required to spend more time behind the wheel with a parent before getting their license. 

new state law that took effective Jan. 1 requires teens to have at least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training, up from 30 currently, before they can take the road test. MPR News reports 15 of the total practice hours must be driven at night, up from 10 currently. 

Parents also must attend a 90-minute public safety awareness class. If they don’t, the Star Tribune reports the teen will have to complete an additional 10 hours of supervised driving, for a total of 50.

Teen drivers must also submit a written log documenting the dates, numbers of hours and skills practiced.

The risk of motor vehicle crashes is higher among 16 to 19-year-olds than among any other age group, according to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention. The most recent statistics show about seven teens in that age bracket die every day from motor vehicle injuries. 


(Cover photo: State Farm / Creative Commons)

Fire kills seven pets in northwest Rochester (updated)

Fire kills seven pets in northwest Rochester (updated)

Charter doubles Internet speeds in Rochester

Charter doubles Internet speeds in Rochester