Partners

Minnesota wants to raise the fine for texting behind the wheel

Minnesota wants to raise the fine for texting behind the wheel

(THE MED CITY BEAT) - Gov. Mark Dayton wants to increase the penalty for Minnesota drivers caught texting behind the wheel.

The governor's budget, which was unveiled Tuesday, includes a proposal to double the current $50 fine for repeat offenders. The AP reports the Department of Public Safety requested the higher fee because too many drivers are ignoring the state's ban on texting.

According to Minnesota law, "no person may operate a motor vehicle while using a wireless communications device to compose, read, or send an electronic message, when the vehicle is in motion or a part of traffic.

There are some exceptions, like using the device to make a phone call or report a traffic incident. However, anyone under the age of 18 is barred from using a cell phone at any time.

The "no texting" law was first introduced in August 2008 and citations have increased every year

Forty percent of all American teens say they have been in a car when the driver used a cell phone in a way that put people in danger, according to a Pew survey.


Advertisement

Advertisement


(Cover photo: File / Paul Oka / Creative Commons)

United Way of Olmsted County meets $4.1 million fundraising goal

United Way of Olmsted County meets $4.1 million fundraising goal

Panel of citizens to oversee police department's policies and practices

Panel of citizens to oversee police department's policies and practices